Today we took part in a speed logo workshop where we were given 2 hours to come up with ideas for a company called ‘Design Volunteers’. If we had the time we also had the choice to create your best personal idea on Adobe Illustrator.

To do this I started by sketching ideas as I believe this is one of the most effective ways to idea generation. I ended up with a bunch of ideas such as using the initials ‘DV’ to a hand/finger raising up as you can see with the sketches I made below.

After sketching and researching I went with the simplistic pencil design for my final digital design as I believe it would be effective and relevant to the companies purpose plus its minimalistic which is perfect for the timescale I had. To create this I started off with the tip of the pencil which is just two simple triangles which then lead onto the body which was three long strips created with the rectangle tool I wanted each shape to have spacing for a unique looking design style. Then I created the rubber end of the pencil which is a simple rectangle with the top rounded off with a white curved line to give it that used shape.

‘Design Volunteers’ Final Design:

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 11.51.31

