Visual Communication:

I believe that both of my designs meet the visual communication needs stated in the brief as I have included an illustration to my front cover this being the black and white cogwheel silhouette created by me also I have taken consideration to the appearance of my design whether it appeals to the target audience. I have also taken measurements of the creative review magazine itself so when it comes to printing the size will be correct also I have looked at the layout to imitate things such as their logo.

I would say that one strength of the front cover would be the colour theme of black and white I think this stands out and also makes the illustration look simplistic but eye-catching which I don’t think creative review have done before from looking at their front covers when doing research. In terms of the double-page spread I think the cogwheels that go around the page numbers work really well as it fills white space and has a nice elegant clipping mask that is connected to the same clipping mask used in the title of the double-page spread. I would say my double-page spread is similar to my front cover simplistic but eye-catching but only this we have some colour but not too much to throw you off reading the actual article.

I have one weakness out of my final designs and that is located on the double-page spread. Its pretty minor and something that I can’t do too much about but the article I created using sources over the internet is slightly not lengthy enough to fill in the bottom of the page to give it a more filling look. I to look for anything else that i could add in the article that relatively new but had no luck especially with not a long time left before the deadline.

One way my design could be mis-interpreted by the audience is the front cover illustration this doesn’t state what it is or what it’s about. However this is usually done with creative review issues so I did this to copy the layout as the goal is to create a creative review front cover at the end of the day. If the reader didn’t know what creative review is they may have to open and take a look before buying. I would say that the illustration does have relevancy and meaning but its something you’ll differently not guess if you didn’t know it was a subculture issue and so on.

Reflection of own working practices:

I believe that my time keeping for this brief was very good especially compared to the previous project. In this project I kept on schedule with the research, editing process and even the printing. This allowed me to do test prints in the library printer just to check the layout is all correct which thankfully it was meaning the glossy print can be done with no error. While all of this was done it allowed me to start the evaluation early which usually doesn’t happen from previous projects so It was nice to complete way on time. This early finnish allowed me to even add a little more to my research such as looking at the difference between the two versions of creative review to show the design change and the change in type with the headers etc.

The understanding of this brief was very good I knew what the purpose was and what was needed as an outcome. The magazine creative review was not something I knew at the time but as the brief needed research this allowed me to understand creative review and what it shows and why it has its success in the creative publishing industry. This meant I refered back to the brief when creating the final pieces on Illustrator and InDesign fitting the requirements specified.

When doing research into subcultures such as the semiotics, icon, symbol and index this gave me many ideas such as what you see featured in the front cover aka the cogwheels they convey steampunk in what I believe in an eye-catching effect matter. Even the history of steampunk gave me ideas such as its based upon Industrial Revolution so this gave me the idea of industrial machinery as you’ll see as a clipping mask in the title, drop cap and cogwheels in the double-page spread. I found the research very important when starting this project as it generates ideas for the final design and steampunk is something that look interesting as a subculture so I wanted to take this further.

During this project experimentation was something done within both of my designs that mainly came into my double-page spread. The way this was done was not creating mock-ups I did it by creating my designs step by step and just adding ideas into designs seeing if it works if not they’ll simply be removed and replaced with the previous idea. A good example of this is the clipping mask cogwheels around the page numbers this was not originally and idea I had but I tought it looked empty in terms of design down below so I added the cogwheel from my front cover and then improved upon this and added in a clipping mask of the same image with the title steampunk to give colour theme link. To make experimentation more effective mock-ups are obviously best but Its a method that takes time I usually mock-up with drawings in terms of layout and then go from there but I do understand the importance of experimentation which I do to some extent.

I enjoyed this project very much I would say the most enjoyable part would be the idea and creation process of the creative review front cover and double-page spread. The program InDesign is very fun to use and learn as its new to most of us but it’s definitely very good for publishing text-based work which is a perfect addition for this project. The least enjoyable part of the project is the blog posts never been a fan of them as they take time in detail but I do understand the importance of them so I make sure to do them on time.

Overall, I’m very pleased with my final outcome as it met my target audience and signified the information about the subculture steampunk. I believe it also met the requirements of the brief and most importantly fits the target audience of the cosplayers, designers and just the creative minds in general as creative review conveys creativity to a new level.

Good design? Evaluation (Ethics):

In what ways have you considered the sustainability of your project process and outcomes?

When thinking about how I could make my project sustainable I thought about the materials used of the actual creation/printing process of the final design. When I did the test print I proceeded to do my final print making sure to have a nice paper thankfully my local print shop had a wide selection so I picked a nice thin glossy print to replicate the creative review series. This process only consisted of only two prints which is very minimal when it comes to paper wastage.

In what ways have you considered the ethical implications of your project process and outcomes?

When thinking of the ethical considerations I the only thing that I could think of with my subculture is the cosplayers as the women are known to be revealing so I avoided the images that could relate to this within my designs as an age restriction could be a thing which creative review would not be fond of.

In sustainability and ethical terms in what ways was your work in this project an improvement or a backward step for you as a socially conscious designer?

I would strongly agree that this project was a step forward from the previous. The reason for this is I believe my research, final outcome and blog posts was more to detail and featured everything needed in the brief also deadlines were met. I also did a test print something that I even didn’t really have time for in the previous project also ethics were taken in consideration such as what my design shows and whether it has a friendly good tone to everyone.

What targets can you make at this point for your work in the future as a socially conscious designer?

The target I would set myself in the future is to be more aware of the ethics within designing a magazine such as things stated in the article on the double-page spread as many things could potentially offend people due to so many cultures things like religion should be stated in a careful/respectful manner.

Final Outcome

screen-shot-2017-02-05-at-17-01-00

screen-shot-2017-02-05-at-16-57-48

