Today we had a tutorial on the clipping path tool in Photoshop which will be most useful for our InDesign CreativeReview Designs in the future.

We started this tutorial with an image of a biker which we opened in Photoshop. Using the pen tool we made an outline around the man in the image (pictured) and then using the paths window we were able to create a clipping path (pictured). This then needed to be saved as an EPS file allowing us to use the cropped image in other programs such as InDesign.

screen-shot-2017-01-20-at-15-40-11

This lead us into InDesign in which the edited image was added in. I then proceeded to add in final touches such as the background colour (pictured) which is basically adding in a rectangle shape that filled the page which can then be altered in colour grey was my pick.

Screen Shot 2017-01-20 at 15.45.49.png

Using the text tool I added in the title ‘Subcultures’ at the top of the image which was placed slightly behind the mans head by sending it back once. I made the font bold so it appeared stronger with the image also the colour I chose was light blue as I love the grey and light blue theme personally. As a final touch I added in a sub-title named ‘The Hogfather’ with the set colour theme to fill in blank space like most publishers do.

Screen Shot 2017-01-20 at 15.47.52.png

Final Outcome:

Screen Shot 2017-01-20 at 15.53.11.png

